top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerebecka schafer

Common Misconceptions About Back Pain

Updated: May 29, 2020

Common Misconceptions About Back Pain: 1) If an exercise hurts then I am damaging my back


Physical therapists can teach you to get used to safe exercises. Even though exercises may cause more pain, this doesn’t represent damage or harm to your spine. "Hurt" does not equal "harm".


2) Bulging discs are the source of my pain

Research shows that chronic back pain frequently does not correlate with the structural abnormalities that may appear on MRIs. Many people with disc degeneration, tears, and bulging discs are able to lead pain-free and active lives.

3) My chronic back pain must have started with an injury

If someone has neglected routine maintenance for many years, (such as maintaining a healthy weight, diet, and exercise habits) it makes the occurrence of problems like chronic back pain more likely.

4) I need to severely restrict my activity because of my back pain

Motion is lotion. Staying active in a way that doesn't cause you significant pain is very healthy for your back.

5) My back pain means something is significantly damaged or diseased

In a study of 1,200 patients with acute back pain, less than 1 percent of patients with back pain had a serious condition including a fracture, infection, cancer, or multiple nerve root compressions.

6) There has to be some fast fix for my chronic pain

Be a smart consumer. There is no magic fix for back pain but after hearing that nothing majorly serious is happening you can start to look for ways to help your pain. Our approach is to help you address the root causes of your pain by focusing on muscle flexibility, strength, and endurance.

3 views0 comments
bottom of page